Michael Uhila blog

August 9, 2010

5 Yoga questions for Samantha Lockwood

Filed under: Uncategorized — michaeluhila @ 2:55 pm

a

Why did you start doing yoga?

Well I was five years old when I was first exposed to it and since kids are natural yogi’s I just caught on because it was fun. Later when I went to my yoga training it was because my mom said it was the best thing she could offer me. She was right, no matter what happens in my life I always have my yoga practice which is something I do just for myself. Something that will help keep my mind and body evergreen – ever youthful and feeling good.

stanbow


What is Bikram Yoga?

Bikram yoga is series of 26 Postures and 2 breathing exercises practiced in a safely heated environment which allows people to move into and out of postures and improve flexibility. The practice covers every part of the body and it is designed for everyone. Known for helping knees, back mobility and strength, toning and shaping everywhere ( arms, legs and stomach) and it is also great for relieving stress which is important for all diseases. It improves circulation all over the body and in places you didn’t even realize were ignored until you do the yoga. It’s a very complete practice.

ajsl

Great for weight loss, peace of mind and body, allergies, asthma, diabetes, heart problems, kidneys, lungs, ulcers, anorexia, sciatica, bursitis, arthritis and the list goes on. Also this practice improves concentration power and mental determination. Half of the exercises are standing and half are on the floor. People should expect to sweat a lot so bring a change of clothes.

How does it differ from the other types of Yoga?

Well all yoga is great. I must say that. However in my experience I do believe this system works and creates the best results. If a person can get over the heat by just coming and doing the practice at least five to ten times they then become hooked. Nothing makes you feel as good as Bikram Yoga. That’s just the truth, and it is why I think there are more Bikram Yoga studios worldwide than any other type of yoga. I would bet on that.

sfadlj


How long have you been doing it?

Since I was in the womb. My mother took Bikram yoga while she was pregnant with me. She is a certified teacher too and she is opening a new studio in the Palm Desert (CA) area called Bikram Yoga at University Village.


If someone wanted to do Bikram Yoga and they were beginers what would be the best way to start?

GO TO

and click on Class Finder – find the studio where you would like to practice, show up early, do your best, learn to listen and you will learn the poses well. Be patient with yourself and your balance and your abilities. Your first class is just an experience where you learn a lot by just jumping in and doing whatever you can do. You could get light-headed or dizzy maybe feel like throwing up for a second but that’s your body detoxing… so just breath, stay in the room and chill. After your first few classes which you should do back to back, everyday if you can, your health and practice will improve tremendously and eventually it’s a piece of cake. Well, it’s just not as hard, let me say that. Also don’t eat a heavy meal before class, eat lightly about 2-3 hours before class. Remember – like the NIKE slogan “just do it”. Don’t waste time thinking about it!

splits

3 Comments »

  1. My friend Charissa wants me to join her at Bikram Yoga but I was afraid it would be too hot and I would feel uncomfortable. You make it sound really enjoyable.

    Comment by Dan — August 10, 2010 @ 1:00 am | Reply

  2. Hi Mike. yeah yoga good, meditation even better. peace.

    Comment by shawn — August 11, 2010 @ 1:12 am | Reply

  3. I have Lupus and other autoimmune diseases, plus disk degeneration in my back and neck and was, I am in constant pain everywhere. I have had 4 fractures on my right foot and 3 fractures on my left foot all within a 2 year period. I had a screw put into both feet because my bones wouldn’t heal and my feet really hurt me. I have done regular yoga and I do aeropilates on my machine, which I love. I would like to try Bikram Yoga but am worried about the pain in my feet. What would you suggest to me knowing a little bit about my history?

    Comment by Kathy Kennicutt — December 22, 2011 @ 12:38 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

